New Message – This texting thing has gone TOO FAR!

LMAO!

Hi everyone! How was your Thanksgiving break?? Mine went pretty well. I got to see my beautiful Godson who is getting soo big 🙂 And I was able to spend time with a lot of my friends who I don’t get to see while living in Baltimore. Soooo, all in all, despite the minor “car accident” I got into with and IRATE man driving a blue camaro during the 7 hour trip back to Baltimore, it was a GREAT weekend!

While I was on the road back I spent a couple of HOURS on the phone with a close guy friend. He and his girlfriend recently broke up and I was asking about the hows and whys of it all. He told me that  one day she said there was something about him that turned her off, without being specific about what that “something” was. So he in turn told her, forget it, let’s just break up! I already knew that he was somewhat unhappy with the relationship that was still pretty new at the time. They’d only been together for about a month. I’m not sure how long they were dating before making it official. He’s in grad school, she’s working. Their schedules weren’t matching up. And neither of the two (in my outside opinion) seemed to be making much of an effort to make it work.

Of course no one wants to be a dumpee so she started to protest his resolution to what she said, saying they could work it out. I’m guessing his feelings/pride were slightly bruised that his girlfriend would say something like that to him. So he said “Eff it!”.

I was in total support of his decision to break up with her while he was telling me the story. I did, however, think he should’ve tried to figure out what it was that was making her uncomfortable in the relationship though. But if he’s happier by himself (he never was one for relationships), then he should be by himself. Then while ending the story telling me about their conversation, he says “yeah but this was all in text message so… blah blah blah”

I cut him off as soon as he said “text message”. TEXT MESSAGE?? Uhm… I know it’s almost 2010 and all, and we’re in the age of technology — unlimited texting, twitter, facebook, etc but my goodness! When did breaking up via text message become acceptable and proper?!? The whole time he was telling me the story I thought he meant they were using their voices and having an actual conversation. I think it’s disrespectful, cowardly and somewhat immature to end a relationship with a digital message. I know they weren’t together for long at all, but still… whatever happened to common courtesy??

I actually have been the “victim” of a text message breakup in the past. It was one of those “WTF-am-I-reading??” moments. Followed by my quick dialing and loud talking (read screaming & cursing) on the phone. How rude!

  • Have any of you ever broken up with someone by means of text/email/twitter/facebook?? Why would someone choose one of those methods rather than a face to face or even a phone call?
  • Have you ever been broken up with via text or internet?? What was your reaction??

Here’s the Twitter feedback: “Breaking up via text message. . . what do you all think??”

“Immature, especially for the 21 and older crowd! and impersonal..guess it wouldnt matter at the point of breakup tho”

“Cowardly”

“unacceptable and immature…yet very funny lol”

“lmao that’s tacky and shows a lack of respect for the other person and a lack of integrity for urself”

“Cowardice + 100% b!tch-move”

“if it’s you doing the breaking up it’s cool. But major issues via text is not a good look”

3 Comments

  1. My ex of 5yrs broke up with me via e-mail… then approx 2weeks later sends me another e-mail telling me that he is ALREADY seeing someone “new.” I recieved both e-mails when I woke up in the morning so he obviously sent them while I was sleep. I called his simple ass and cussed him out ROYALY!!! And I know some where in there I said HTF you gonna send me an e-mail telling me this effin s***!!!???

    • Sounds exactly like what my response would be!
      He sent them while you were asleep on purpose. That’s so cowardly!

      • Yes it was!!!


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

